Making good use of moments of disturbance

Many a times we are swayed by an intense emotion of anger, aggression, violence, pride, and only after a while one may realise that one got swayed.

That realisation itself is a very beautiful step. And then one can come to the mindfulness of breath again, and stay with the body, with the pain, with the unease in the body.

One knows clearly that there’s no point running the mind in thoughts, trying to clarify the happenings of life in the head. There’s no end to this, and one never, almost never, finds true resolutions there, in the head.

One knows that being in the forest of thought regarding anger, violence, or what happened, the content of happening etc, has no connection of dots.

One interacts with someone and unknowingly aggression comes out. Well, one can be grateful to the situation for letting know that one has so much aggression one didn’t even know.

It grounds us. It pushes us to be continuing the journey of being more aware, more conscious.

It’s important because when I hurt someone, i hurt myself too. We are all one.

So if bringing out of our anger, can ground us, can make us more responsible, for our actions and movements, it’s really nice.

Many a times those of us on spiritual path, when they show up with anger or other intense emotions, people around may comment – oh but how can u be angry? U do meditation.

Well. Yes, i have all these intense emotions, and that is the very reason i meditate. I must.

Meditation doesn’t bring a full stop to our emotions. It makes us more and more conscious of them, it makes us more responsible for our actions and speech. We don’t have to be guilty, of practicing meditation and yet getting swayed. It’s a journey. It’s a process.

The point is – how good use i make of the moment in which i get swayed. I can also make use of it to deepen my practice. Or i can go in guilt or Shame. What do I choose.

I can also see, that yes all of the ugliness is there in me, yes, but that’s not who i am really, and hence i can always be a better and better version of myself. There’s no end to it.

Seeing ugliness in me, is good, it grounds, and connects me with others who may act ugly. It’s like saying – brother/sister, we are in the same boat, and we can work on it together. Let’s do it. Let’s not stop.

The same moment of aggression or violence can be my opening to embrace it in others, and not to categorise each other based on how we act out.

What good use can I make of my life happenings, is the question.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.