To be interested or not..

What would interest a drunkard? Alcohol.

Satsang will not really interest him. Right?

What will interest an addict?

The object of his addiction, of course.

But that does not say that being interested in alcohol or any object of my addiction is good for me per se.

I just am so obsessed with being interested in the object of addiction, that although I know it is not really healthy for me, I just can’t help being interested in it.

Somewhere I know deeply that the object of addiction, is not really helping me. But I can’t help it anyway.

Often, we pay much importance to something that interests us. Which is great, but not great at the same time. Depending on how healthy is my mind really.

Mostly our minds are not really healthy in a sense that they would not be interested much in words or persons or things, or people, that de-addict me of my addictions. I would mostly runaway from them all. Those who threaten to get rid of my obsessions.

So what to do?

Well, god only knows.

It seems that the best we can do here is knowing that I am an addict, obsessed about my obsessions, and hence burdened with them in my head, I must then follow a path, which is good for me, not necessarily that I am enjoying or liking it in the beginning.

Just like when a person who is diagnosed with some illness owing to the food he had been eating for long, would now find it very uneasy, challenging and difficult to switch to a food which is promoting health rather than disease. It is not going to be as tasty in the beginning compared to his old variety of food.

But nevertheless, he must tread the path, and go through the discomfort of beginning to develop a taste for lighter quality of food, which is not sticky to the body.

It’s an auspicious discomfort. Even though he may not be really interested in it at least in the beginning, he must give himself a chance here, if he loves his life.

If we love our life, despite the uneasiness, despite the discomfort, I must follow a path that I know deeply, is good for me. I may break, shatter, go through a lot of unease on the path, but that’s nothing in front of what will be revealed to me: my own self..

So interested, or not interested, let us give this exploration some of our time, in one way or another, because it’s our birthright. We deserve to be truly our selves, without shame, without guilt. Just truly our selves.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.